An Archive of Jacob Appelbaum’s Post-Katrina weblog


Offers for help and honor in from the media

Posted in astrodome,houston,Katrina,media,radio,supplies by jacob on September 8, 2005

Yesterday (it’s late and technically Thursday now) I got an email alerting me of a harshly worded weblog post by the local Houston media. I replied saying that I felt I should offer a slight correction. That’s the trouble with liveblogging I suppose.

My reply (to the above link) was:

For a little clarity: Sorry, I misspoke. When I was talking to the BBC reporters on my cell phone, they told me that I was one of the only media/photographer/etc people inside of the dome at that time. I’m aware that there have been a number of high profile press photo ops. I was not claiming to be the only media person to have ever entered the Astrodome. I had a birds eye view of the entire inside of the dome and I could not see any media on the center floor. Aside from the high profile photo ops and major media outlets, it’s not as open as you might think. I was personally detained by a number of Reliant Energy employees who were supposedly acting under the authority of FEMA. This policy is inline with FEMA directing the media to not photograph bodies in New Orleans. No one ever actually showed me any policy but I certainly had a massive resistance keeping me from getting to the main floor. The mere fact that I had a badge that said “MEDIA” caused me undue amounts of trouble.

Posted by: Jacob Appelbaum at September 7, 2005 07:09 PM

Much to my surprise, the lady who writes the blog not only approved the above comment, she sent me this email:

Delivered-To: jacob@appelbaum.net
From: “OConnor, Kyrie”
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 08 Sep 2005 00:42:13.0545 (UTC)

i’m sorry. really, if there’s anything i can do for you …

======================================================
This e-mail message is intended only for the personal
use of the recipients(s) named above. If you are not
an intended recipient, you may not review, copy or
distribute this message.

If you have received this communication in error,
please notify the Houston Chronicle Postmaster
(postmaster@chron.com) immediately by e-mail and
delete the original message.

======================================================

To which I was so surprised I responded with:

From: Jake Appelbaum < jacob@appelbaum.net>

To: OConnor, Kyrie < Kyrie.OConnor@chron.com>

Subject: Re:

Date: Wed, 07 Sep 2005 19:54:22 -0500

On Wed, 2005-09-07 at 19:42 -0500, OConnor, Kyrie wrote:
> i’m sorry. really, if there’s anything i can do for you …
>

Perhaps you can help with this:

https://jacob.wordpress.com/2005/09/07/radio-station-has-been-blocked/

The people down there really need some hope and I cannot understand why
it was blocked.


Jake Appelbaum < jacob@appelbaum.net>

Just to reiterate, Kyrie I’m really looking forward to your help in this matter. I’m looking forward to seeing how the main stream media (MSM) in Houston will push for the low power FM station. The people inside need some information, they need some hope, they need to stay connected.

5 Responses to 'Offers for help and honor in from the media'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Offers for help and honor in from the media'.

  1. rachel said,

    i love ford rangers!

  2. lester said,

    on the money again bruv


  3. Wow this site is getting more and more visitors!


  4. Thank you a great website with really useful information


  5. nice site…


Leave a Reply

