An Archive of Jacob Appelbaum’s Post-Katrina weblog


On censorship

Posted in censorship,rant,writing by jacob on September 13, 2005

To those that feel negativity towards me. To the people that have insulted me, spit on me, denied me and called me the insult of the day:

Thank you. Without your negative praise I wouldn’t be motivated to fight for things I consider to be just. Without you I would feel like my efforts aren’t of any significance. Please keep the death threats coming. Perhaps even a pot shot at my motorcycle while I’m driving it. I know I’m doing something right when I get under your skin enough to waste hours of your time reading things that make your blood boil. I’ll never stop. You have yourselves to thank. You should be proud of yourselves. All of you. You’re a bunch of world changing winners.

Yours with love and devotion to something better,
Jacob Appelbaum

23 Responses to 'On censorship'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'On censorship'.

  1. Tom Raworth said,

    Congratulations, Jacob.
    I’ve been following your various journals and voyages for some time now, with admiration. It’s a long focus from Cambridge, England: but your father would have been proud of you.
    Good luck.
    Tom

  2. jacob said,

    Thanks Tom. I wish he could have been here to see it all. That’s the bitch of social injustice, huh?

  3. Ben Saari said,

    Jacob

    I’ve been exceptionally lucky, most of my heros have also been people who know my name… well except for Han Solo, but you get the picture. Or maybe not, dude, you are a fucking hero.

    To be attacked by the enemy is a good thing, it means you ar doing something right.


  4. Hi jacob,

    Congratulations for your phenomenal work in New Orleans. Many people around the world are following you and Joel, and I am trying to traslate to spanish the most important of both in my blog ( http://www.lubrio.blogspot.com )

    To the people that insulted you today, you can tell them a phrase from Don Quixote de la Mancha, a famous character from spanish novelist Miguel de Cervantes: “If the dogs are barking, that’s because we are riding along”.


  5. I met Jacob at the local linux users group, I found him to be knowleagable about computers and linux, but only after seeing his blog was I able to see what all he does for people. I am able to take a new look on Iraq and Katrina and life because of him. I am in debt to him for bringing me the truth. I have shared his knowleage with people who enjoy his every word. I have to say I am lucky to have met him in person, and he is just as awesome. I wish you the best.

    Paul “ck” Peterson

    p.s. If you don’t like what he is doing, look in the mirror, and ask yourself, what have you done for the world.


  6. Thank you jacob for all the things you are doing right now.
    And you are trying to change the world just as Naomi Klein tries to do.

  7. Whitney said,

    Jake you are a hero. You are someone I have always looked up to. You inspire my daily to be a better person and you help me to see the world for what it is. Don’t let anyone get you down. Follow your heart and continue to do what you know is right.
    Regards,
    Whitney

  8. Tanya said,

    There’s nothing wrong with what you are doing. In fact, there is everything right about it. You are maintaining the understanding of the tragedy, keeping it fresh so that it is not forgotten or swept under the rug. And you are also giving the opportunity for us all to know about the unsung heroes like Malik, who make all the survivors’ lives more bearable. You are allowing people in New Orleans to be listened to, to be seen and taken more seriously when they have almost nothing left.

    I personally am glad that you are keeping this up, and I know many people who support your journey.

  9. Jesse said,

    Indeed Jake, you do rock. Keep it up =)

  10. Panda said,

    thanks so much for all your work, your dedication to bring all these to us at the expense of your time. whatever people might say, it is most probably out of jealousy or immaturity.

    thanks again, because those are the only words that really could measure up to the work that you have done for us sitting at our homes and either can’t do much or won’t do much.🙂

  11. Robert said,

    I have followed you since your days in Iraq on LJ. I am proud and honored to “know” you.
    Just thought you should hear some positive stuff since you seem to be getting attacked from all sides.
    And on a side note, some of your links and talks on security have helped focus me in college(being a 33year old former salesman whose company “downsized” him in the spirit of America) I’ll never be as knowledgeable as you but from what I have seen I will be more knowledgeable than most in the field.
    Keep up the good work.

  12. nana said,

    hey jake
    what a world. It would be unbelievable that the world cant see what is happening with this level of naked extermination — if i hadnt already seen how insanely blind people are especially these last few years.

    am glad you connected with Malik. I sent his Bayview piece to the indyvoter list Sep 2 but i guess no one took it from there. I worked with him on housing stuff in sf, not as *nana*. With Eviction Defense Netw & Louise Vaughn etc Bayview people. Give him my greetings. It is beyond words, but I resonate since many of us have been living in mini-NewOrleans for some time.

    (i actually tried to send it on Sep 1, but right in the middle of emailing someone come up and tore the laptop out of my hands and ran to a getaway car & roared off. i was in shock, I am devastated and my work practically stopped by it. No memory, no laptop, and traumatized.)

    but you are great, and am sure they are exstatic to have your talent. you are such a hero you probably wont know me any more!

    take care, all of you.
    see you at webzine

  13. Esther said,

    Those pictures of Klein and Rahim are beautiful.

  14. dana said,

    The “right thing” is rarely the easy thing.

    Keep up the hard work.

  15. eRobin said,

    Good luck, thank you for your work and stay strong.

  16. Jill said,

    Thank you for what you are doing.

  17. jacksonwest said,

    Keep up the great work. Send my best to the folks down in NO.

  18. Gary said,

    Kudos! Job well done!
    This country is what it is because of what we do with it.
    If you think it sucks it’s because you are not doing enough to save it.
    Jacob is a shinning example of doing more with less.
    He’s earned our respect.

  19. Ruby said,

    Thanks for your good work, and for writing the best response to trolls that I have ever seen. I will definitely be taking a similar approach in the future.

    Keep the faith!

  20. Lawrence said,

    Heya Jacob,

    Greetings from Ottawa, Canada.

    Your site got a mention on CNN today (tiny FM transmitter in NOLA), surfed in to take a look and liked what I see.

    I may not agree with you, but I’m glad you’re not one of those milquetoast commoners. I like other people who get hate mail.

    Thank you.

  21. K said,

    What you’re doing is very cool. I do want to say as a response to Ben Saari: though what you said is true, “To be attacked by the enemy is a good thing, it means you ar doing something right.” is Bush’s motto, as well. But I think we can all see the difference in approach (and no, I’m not comparing Jacob to Bush).


  22. Holdm Omaha Poker Betting Tips

    impose balms!cheeks,

  23. ais bet said,

    ais bet

    marshals checker!Bodenheim improbable poach!


Leave a Reply

