An Archive of Jacob Appelbaum’s Post-Katrina weblog


Soldiers stationed in New Orleans

Posted in Katrina,military,neworleans by jacob on September 18, 2005

Driving through New Orleans

This man handed me the gun in this photo. He’s a nice guy and we talked about how strange it was for him to be stationed on US soil. He agreed and said it was a pointless waste of time and that because of federal law they don’t even have ammo in their guns. They cannot arrest people unless they’re directly threatened. Feel free to speed everyone. He advised that I carry a gun. I rather liked him and his crew, very respectable guys.

The notes I made on the photo explain the gear a little more.

12 Responses to 'Soldiers stationed in New Orleans'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Soldiers stationed in New Orleans'.

  1. BillSaysThis said,

    Keep up the good works, Jacob. The Bush Administration seems to be banking on the fallacy that perception == reality, but then that’s generally been their modus operandi and, sadly, has worked well. (Note: the Wikipedia link is incorrectly coded.)

  2. Sam Tresler said,

    Looks like great work you’re doing. My friend Josh let me know about your site. I’m reminded of the soldiers we had (and occasionally still have) around NYC right after 9/11. I always wondered what good an assault rifle was going to do in a subway tunnel at rushhour. I figured it would ricochet and kill six people with one bullet. Guess there weren’t any bullets in the first place. Just there to make people feel better.
    Keep up the good work!

  3. Kathryn Hill said,

    Great post, I enjoyed this one a lot.

  4. Paul said,

    Ok.. gun without ammo… However, still a nice argument to scare people off, IMO…

  5. Slacker said,

    To correct Sam (for whatever good it does this long from the original post); all troops I knew of providing security at airports, subways, etc. were National Guard and under the command of their respective governors. As such, they could act in a law enforcement capacity. It is also likely they are under different orders regarding the readiness of their rifle (so more likely they have a magazine in the rifle).

  6. Saha said,

    I always wondered what good an assault rifle was going to do in a subway tunnel at rushhour. I figured it would ricochet and kill six people with one bullet. Guess there weren’t any bullets in the first place. Just there to make people feel better.

  7. Denn said,

    The Bush Administration seems to be banking on the fallacy that perception == reality, but then that’s generally been their modus operandi and, sadly, has worked well. (Note: the Wikipedia link is incorrectly coded.

  8. omzig89 said,

    it’s been almost 5 months since this went up, but I have to say that the gun is at least functional for all its gadgets (click picture to see what I mean). I never knew they fit all that on a gun. What can I say, I’m a pacifist and I know nothing about warfare (especially modern warfare and equipment.)

    — meanwhile, people are blowing themselves up in the middle east —

  9. John Lee said,

    Jacob,

    I along with eight neighbors buried Vera Smith. You took pictures of the biohazard sign on her empty grave. I have written my memoirs of the 9 days I stayed in New Orleans following Katrina, and I would like to have your permission to use two of your pictures of the disinterred grave in my self-published book.

    I look forward to hearing from you. If you care to call me, my cell is 504-957-5048.

    Thank you,

    John Lee

  10. wm said,

    Nice image — especially without ammo😉 But certainly they carried some ammunition with them, didn’t they?


  11. Who wins and loses in these scenarios

  12. anatol said,

    Nise site!


Leave a Reply

