An Archive of Jacob Appelbaum’s Post-Katrina weblog


Joel and friends set up the radio antenna mast

Posted in algiers,Katrina,media,neworleans,photos,radio by jacob on September 14, 2005

Joel scouts the roof for antenna placement

Joel busted his ass all day to raise an antenna mast. 94.5FM is now live and rolling. All of New Orleans within line of sight should be able to tune in.

Enjoy. 

17 Responses to 'Joel and friends set up the radio antenna mast'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Joel and friends set up the radio antenna mast'.

  1. Erica Olsen said,

    I have been following your efforts with interest and not a small amount of emotion. My father is a retired dj who, for most of my life, has bewailed the state of radio – the monocultural characterlessness, the corporate product that passes for programming, the lost potential. What you are doing, using the public airwaves to help and inspire people, is wonderful. Thank you from everyone who loves radio and believes that it can be something better.

  2. itch said,

    Vicious irony – in my town here in Australia all the way on the other side of the globe, 94.5 is a painful-to-listen-to easy-listening station. I wish I could get your 94.5 over here. You are doing a wonderful thing.

  3. eRobin said,

    You guys are amazing.


  4. Great work. Amazing.

  5. ESQ said,

    We’re still waiting for the lunchbox transmitter plans… =)

    Quality.


  6. […] A group of guerrilla media types have set up a pirate radio station at 94.5FM and community media center for folks to share their stories and get information about what’s going on. I don’t have any info for you to donate to them, however. […]


  7. […] A group of guerrilla media types have set up a pirate radio station at 94.5FM and community media center for folks to share their stories and get information about what’s going on. I don’t have any info for you to donate to them, however. […]

  8. vanman said,

    Bravo Mr Levar! Your doing some really cool things these days. I’m proud of our local hero.

  9. Fahd said,

    Hi guys!

    I wanted to set up a radio station too. Do you guys have any websites or stuff I can read up to get an idea abt it?

    How much does it cost?

    Thanks.
    Fahd 🙂

  10. tefl said,

    tefl

  11. TrioPirate said,

    So good to see others carrying on the Pirate radio legacy. Nice work!
    We’re a pirate station in South Africa known as Radio X, broadcasting on 93.7Mhz Fm every weekend for the past 2 years. Keep it going, you have no idea how much things like this inspire others!

  12. xixnc said,

    Good site!!!

  13. pushp said,

    You are very passionate,
    I am also try to stand my own FM radio station at local center.
    I hope you help me and guide me


  14. texas holdem free online poker

    nimbleness:asynchronism mutability.

  15. Bob Stuart said,

    [..]

  16. mg said,

    since i was 16 iv wanted 2 set up a pirate radio hw do i do it?


  17. reasons why a burglar can bet his case

    ,


Leave a comment